What we can learn from Bruce Lee

“Be like water” is one of his many famous quotes, but Bruce Lee taught us a lot more than just that. I’m picking some bits out of this article because there are some parts that really reached out to me. I suggest you read the full post.

He was a very philosophical man, a person of integrity and peace. He believed that philosophy was a vital part of life, everyday and more. Lee kept a pocket notebook and took it everywhere with him to capture any ideas and reinforce the beliefs he established upon himself.

Willpower:
Recognizing that the power of will is the supreme court over all other departments of my mind, I will exercise it daily, when I need the urge to action for any purpose; and I will form HABIT designed to bring the power of my will into action at least once daily.

Emotion:
Realizing that my emotions are both POSITIVE and negative I will form daily HABITS which will encourage the development of the POSITIVE EMOTIONS, and aid me in converting the negative emotions into some form of useful action.

Reason:
Recognizing that both my positive & negative emotions may be dangerous if they are not controlled and guided to desirable ends, I will submit all my desires, aims and purposes to my faculties of reason, and I will be guided by it in giving expression to these.

Imagination:
Recognizing the need for sound PLANS and IDEAS for the attainment of my desires, I will develop my imagination by calling upon it daily for help in the formation of my plans.

Memory:
Recognizing the value of an alert memory, I will encourage mine to become alert by taking care to impress it clearly with all thoughts I wish to recall, and by associating those thoughts with related subjects which I may call to mind frequently.

Subconscious mind:
Recognizing the influence of my subconscious mind over my power of will, I shall take care to submit to it a clear and definite picture of my CLEAR PURPOSE in life and all minor purposes leading to my major purpose, and I shall keep this picture CONSTANTLY BEFORE my subconscious mind by REPEATING IT DAILY.

Conscience:
Recognizing that my emotions often err in their over-enthusiasm, and my faculty of reason often is without the warmth of feeling that is necessary to enable me to combine justice with mercy in my judgments, I will encourage my conscience to guide me as to what is right & what is wrong, but I will never set aside the verdicts it renders, no matter what may be the cost of carrying them out.”

He was diligent, and believed he had all control over himself, his emotions and thoughts. His positivity defined his purpose in life and therefore made him spend every day efficiently. I feel that scrolling through your email or social media feed is what we do as a nervous tick, waiting for something but we don’t know what that something is. But we would still scroll.

Keeping a pocket notebook is important. Writing things down on a physical notebook is proven to be more effective than typing it up. If you write down your affirmations, your goals in life and who you strive to be, you clear up your mind of stress, anxiety and confusion. You solidify your faith (whatever it is) and have the willpower over yourself.

Steve Jobs said that every day, he looks in the mirror and asks, “If today were the last day of your life, would you want to do what you are about to do today?” If the answer was no, he had to change something. There are lots of articles and posts on motivation and being happy, but these are the ones that have come to most use.

For more inspirations from the one and only Bruce Lee, check out the article I mentioned. It’s worth reading.

Reply or you know, just say hi.

